June 25, 2024

Lando Norris finally claims victory at 2024 Miami Grand Prix

Lando Norris Wins the 2024 Miami Grand Prix

Lando Norris has secured his first Formula 1 race victory by taking the checkered flag at the 2024 Miami Grand Prix. The McLaren driver celebrated his win with the iconic champagne bottle spike, standing on the podium in triumph.

Although the weekend was dominated by Red Bull’s Max Verstappen, Norris showcased impressive pace at the Miami Autodrome, making the race a thrilling spectacle. A crucial moment came when an incident between Kevin Magnussen and Logan Sargeant led to a safety car deployment. Norris, who had yet to pit, took advantage of the situation and emerged from the pits with fresh tires, maintaining his lead until the finish line.

Max Verstappen finished in second place, attempting to challenge Norris after the restart but ultimately falling short. Charles Leclerc claimed the third spot, crossing the line just behind Verstappen.

Unfortunately, Logan Sargeant was the sole retirement of the race due to the earlier collision. Lewis Hamilton secured sixth place, closely trailing Sergio Perez towards the end of the race. Meanwhile, Daniel Ricciardo’s teammate, Yuki Tsunoda, outperformed him significantly, with Tsunoda finishing in seventh place compared to Ricciardo’s 15th position.

During a post-race press conference, Norris expressed his elation at standing on the top step of the podium, describing the moment as “incredible.” Verstappen and Leclerc, his closest competitors, also congratulated Norris on his maiden victory.

“It was a long time coming, and I’m happy to be beaten by Lando today,” Verstappen remarked. “He deserved the win and was clearly the fastest in the end.”

Leclerc added, “I’m genuinely happy for Lando. He should savor this moment to the fullest, as tonight will be a celebration to remember.”

When asked about his plans for celebrating the victory, Norris jokingly stated, “I won’t be getting much sleep tonight. The party is just getting started. I might end up with more than just a scratch on my nose tomorrow,” referencing a previous injury sustained while partying in Amsterdam.

Below are the full race results:

  1. Lando Norris McLaren/Mercedes
  2. Max Verstappen Red Bull/Honda RBPT
  3. Charles Leclerc Ferrari
  4. Carlos Sainz Ferrari
  5. Sergio Pérez Red Bull/Honda RBPT
  6. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
  7. Yuki Tsunoda RB/Honda RBPT
  8. George Russell Mercedes
  9. Fernando Alonso Aston Martin/Mercedes
  10. Esteban Ocon Alpine/Renault
  11. Nico Hülkenberg Haas/Ferrari
  12. Pierre Gasly Alpine/Renault
  13. Oscar Piastri McLaren/Mercedes
  14. Zhou Guanyu Sauber/Ferrari
  15. Daniel Ricciardo RB/Honda RBPT
  16. Valtteri Bottas Sauber/Ferrari
  17. Lance Stroll Aston Martin/Mercedes
  18. Kevin Magnussen Haas/Ferrari
  19. Alexander Albon Williams/Mercedes
    DNF – Logan Sargeant Williams/Mercedes


Q: How did Lando Norris secure his first Formula 1 victory?

A: Norris capitalized on a strategic pit stop during a safety car period, managing to maintain his lead until the end of the race.

Q: Who congratulated Lando Norris on his win?

A: Both Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc praised Norris for his impressive performance and deserved victory.


Lando Norris’ victory at the 2024 Miami Grand Prix marked a significant milestone in his Formula 1 career, showcasing his talent and determination on the track. As he savors his triumph and celebrates with his team, fans anticipate more thrilling performances from the young driver in the races to come.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *