June 22, 2024

Josef Newgarden Secures Second Consecutive Victory at Indy 500

INDIANAPOLIS — Josef Newgarden overcame a cheating scandal to make history as the first back-to-back winner of the Indianapolis 500 since Helio Castroneves 22 years ago, giving team owner Roger Penske his 20th victory in “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.”

Newgarden passed Pato O’Ward on the final lap of Sunday’s rain-delayed race to secure the landmark victory, becoming the first driver to achieve consecutive wins at the prestigious event since Castroneves in 2001 and 2002 under the Penske banner. Just like last year, Newgarden celebrated by stopping his Chevrolet-powered car on the track and climbing through a hole in the fence to share the moment with fans in the grandstands.

“I love this crowd. I’ve got to always go in the crowd if we win here, I am always doing that,” Newgarden expressed.

O’Ward, feeling defeated, was aiming to become the first Mexican winner in 108 editions of the Indy 500.

It was a remarkable comeback for Newgarden, who had his victory in March disqualified due to illegal push-to-pass software on Team Penske’s cars. Despite the setback, Newgarden used the additional horsepower to secure this victory, putting the scandal in the past.

Roger Penske took action by suspending four crew members, including Team President Tim Cindric, who is known as the top strategist in the series. This suspension was a significant blow for Newgarden, but he was able to focus on the win and move forward from the controversy.

“Absolutely, they can say what they want, I don’t even care anymore,” Newgarden stated.

The race start was delayed by four hours due to rain, causing NASCAR star Kyle Larson to miss the start of the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Larson’s performance was affected by two rookie mistakes, leading to an 18th-place finish.

Scott Dixon of Chip Ganassi Racing took third place as the top-finishing Honda driver, followed by Alexander Rossi from Arrow McLaren Racing. Chevrolet dominated the top four spots.


Q: How many wins does Josef Newgarden have at the Indianapolis 500?

A: Josef Newgarden has won the Indianapolis 500 two years in a row, making it his second victory at the event.


Josef Newgarden’s back-to-back win at the Indianapolis 500, despite facing adversity, has solidified his place in history as a remarkable driver. With Roger Penske’s 20th victory at the event, the team has shown resilience and determination to overcome challenges and succeed on the grand stage of the Indy 500.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *