July 14, 2024

A Year of Strong Performance for Automakers as Ford SuperTruck Triumphs at Pikes Peak

The SuperTruck race ended up being slower than the SuperVan’s though, which completed the course last year in 8:47.682. Ford reported that there was a technical issue during the race that caused Dumas and the SuperTruck to come to a halt on the course for a few moments. Ford estimated that it cost them about 26 seconds. Despite the setback, there is still a gap between the SuperTruck and the overall Pikes Peak record of under 8 minutes. The current record is held by Dumas driving the VW ID.R.

Hyundai Ioniq 5 N

Hyundai also secured a spot on the podium alongside Ford and Wolf Racing. One of its Ioniq 5 N Time Attack cars finished the race in 9:30.852 with Dani Sordo behind the wheel. There were three Ioniq 5 Ns that participated in the race, including a Time Attack car and a stock model with a powertrain specifically calibrated for Pikes Peak. The stock Ioniq 5 N finished 26th overall and came in third in the Exhibition class, with a time of 10:49.267 driven by Ron Zaras.

The final entry in the Exhibition class was the quad-motor Rivian R1T. Despite finishing last in its class, Gardner Nichols drove the Rivian up the hill in 10:53.883, which is about 30 seconds faster than last year’s performance. Being only 4.6 seconds behind a much smaller vehicle like the Hyundai Ioniq 5 N is commendable, especially considering both were essentially stock models. Rivian also claims the title of fastest production pickup truck to ascend the hill.


1. What was the finishing time of the SuperVan last year?

The SuperVan completed the course last year in 8:47.682.

2. Who holds the current overall Pikes Peak record?

The current record is held by Dumas driving the VW ID.R.


Despite some challenges faced during the race, the participants at Pikes Peak International Hill Climb showcased impressive performances. From technical issues to improved times, each team demonstrated their skill and determination in this challenging event. Congratulations to all the participants for their efforts and achievements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *